FJ contrib

Giving-Back
Developing-Interests
Finding-Jobs
Travel
Health
Money-Management
Mothers-Reinvented

Blogs

 Latest contributions 
NED for Averon Park 
Truseee with Financial Expertise for Brunelcare  
Trustees for scottish commission for learning disabilities  
Board members for Chichester Greyfriars Housing association 
RSS Feed for latest articles

Directorship (Non-Executive)

"Non-executive directors should question intelligently, debate constructively, challenge rigorously and decide dispassionately"
Derek Higgs

 

See our aggregated list of current non executive director appointments being advertised......more

.

 A porttfolio of non executive directorships is the aim of many retirees who want to avoid too sudden a decline from full time work to geriatric golf and gardening.  But the role of a non executive director today is much more professional and demanding than in the past and the obligations, responsibilities and risks are much clearer (ask a past Equitable Life director for their views on this!).   Payment for non executive directors although still low in relation to the obligations incurred is improving and increasingly reflects the professional nature of the role.

Training.  
Many professional firms run general and specialist courses for non executive directorships, as well as acting as introduction conduits.  
See also the training programme for the Institute of Directors professional qualification as a Chartered Director.  www.iod.com

Recruitment.
Particularly for listed companies, recruitment of non executive directors is often handled by headhunters (executive search firms) or done with the advice of a company’s professional advisors, particularly their accountants.  Although press advertising for specific posts is widely used, it is worth making sure that the main headhunters and accounting firms have your CV if you want to be kept in mind.

See:

www.non-execs.com,  a membership web site owned by the FT which enables prospective non execs or trustees to access leading recruitment companies and interested employers ranging from FTSE 100 companies to small charities.
For Government appointments  also see http://www.wig.co.uk
PwC’s website:  www.nedagenda.co.uk
Kingston Smith website for Gro-NED Register  www.kingstonsmith.co.uk

For Chartered Accountants seeking an appointment  see www.icaew.co.uk

AIC (Association of Investment Companies) run an informal introduction agency for potential directors of investment trusts. www.aic.co.uk

.www.nedonboard.com is "the professional organisation for non-executive directors in UK"

for networking and opportunities for non executive directors in the private and public sectors see www.nonexecutivedirectors.com/
nonexeclogo copy


For headhunters see:

Egon Zehnder   www.egonzehnder.com

Gatenby Sanderson  www.gatenbysanderson.com

Norman Broadbent:    www.normanbroadbent.com 

Spencer Stuart:   www.spencerstuart.com

Odgers    www.odgers.com  

Whitehead Mann:   www.wmann.com  




PLEASE MAKE SUGGESTIONS FOR ADDITIONS TO THIS SECTION, AND RATE THE USEFULNESS OF THE SITES YOU USE  -  SEE ‘ADD A CONTRIBUTION’ ABOVE